Procrastination

Oftentimes I will have an idea of what to say, but I will feel dry or unmotivated or just plain lazy. And so I sit and form sentences in my head (sentences that inevitably fall to pieces when I attempt to pull them out into the real world, the mind effortlessly making connections that mouth and fingers lack the eloquence to make explicit); I form sentences in my head, thumbing through this word and that, just to make sure I still have it in me to create beautiful (if the word is not too presumptuous) things.

But of course, this post is a way of pushing it back. To speak about an act of creation, even if such speaking results in a blog post, isn’t itself really a creative act, now is it?

I feel muddled. I want to be on a mountain. What is it about high places that makes clarity seem within reach? Is it the air, the view, the irrational feeling of being closer to God? I don’t know, but I like it.

~ by justinhong on December 23, 2012.

2 Responses to “Procrastination”

  1. in this case.. your procrastination is a prognostication! which is creative!

  2. I think it’s all three for me, and maybe some mystical fourth element, but whatever it is, or whatever combination it is, I like it too.

Leave a Reply

 
