The note said:

Dear Clydie,
I am taken ill (iller than you think or I can describe) and have got to go. I don’t know when we will see each other again. I am changeable, I hope. Here are the keys to the car. I am leaving it to you with thanks for everything. You have been a true friend to one in need.

Love,
Jayber

It shook me to see what I had written and the way I had signed it: “Love.” I said earlier that I didn’t love her so much as I liked her. I will have to take that back. Love has a scale, and Clydie and I were on it somewhere. It hurt me to be leaving her.
But I had to go. It seemed that my way in this world had all of a sudden opened up again (like a door? a wound?) and was leading me on. I was thinking, “Oh, I have got to change or die. Oh, I have got to give up my life or die.”

 

(from Jayber Crow)

~ by justinhong on March 23, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
