As far

I sat down on a rock. Over the last couple hours I’d begun to realize I had trouble breathing. And it was getting worse. At this point I didn’t feel like I had anything left. There was a tightness in my chest and it hurt to take deep breaths. What was going to happen to me?

Though it was dark there was enough light to see a good ways out toward the horizon. And East on the horizon there was a soft glow. The city. But I would not make it now. 

He sat on the boulder for quite some time. He’d lost track of time a long time since the sun had set behind him. The land stretched out in every direction, sparsely vegetated with scattered stones and shrubs. There was only silence around. A slight breeze shook him from his nightdreaming and he noticed something. Far off in the distance there was a light. It was as if a small flame had detached itself from the glow on the horizon. After about ten minutes of watching he was sure, it was coming towards him.

~ by justinhong on October 10, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
