Condescending

He came to be with us. He came to be with us. He came to be with us. He came to be with us. He came to be with us.

I am so glad he did.

Sometimes I wonder if I go too far. I wonder if I let people off the hook too much. If people will think I am a pushover. When I try to give the benefit of the doubt, a small voice inside urges me to Beware! What if you end up playing the fool?

And for some reason, for some absurd reason, I feel that foolishness doesn’t fit on me. That it isn’t becoming or consistent with the person that I am.

But then we are reminded that he has chosen the foolish things to shame the wise. The weak to shame the strong…

Was foolishness, was weakness, becoming on the one true and living God? The almighty creator? Was it fitting that he should come so far, come down so so far, to be with and to die for us? Who are we? What are we but dust? What but Love could inspire the infinite and the glorious to take on the dirt and rags of humanity?

Thank you Lord for coming to me. Thank you thank you thank you.

I pray that this year I will draw near to you as you have drawn near to me. I pray that I will embrace the foolishness of grace and surrender and vulnerability in this horrible world. I pray for your your Presence, more than your presents, though those are much appreciated. (That’s why they call it the present…?)

Merry Christmas.

~ by justinhong on December 25, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
