What I meant

I guess what I meant to say was that, when I went to WalMart to buy glue sticks for work and I saw that red-winged blackbird in the parking lot, I caught my breath. Have you seen one before/recently? All black, but as the wings spread to take flight, a brilliant burst of the purest red. Some species of Ceanothus greets you as you get out of your car at the In-N-Out in Richmond. Out the cafe window, a cloud rippled sky at sunset contrasts the dirty street below.

Unexplained beauty in unexpected places.

On a slightly related note, I’m not sure how long it has been this content about where I am, this excited about what the future holds, or in this much pain over the brokenness in my community, family and self. I am not comfortable, I am confused, I am (for the moment) exactly where I want to be.

~ by justinhong on December 5, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
