Baby

Today when I got to the shelter our head RA waved me back to the area behind the desk. She was on the phone with the police because a resident had gotten violent during a meeting and had to be subdued. While we were standing there, Joanne, an older black lady who works as a cook in the EOCP kitchen looked and finally recognized me,

“How are you young man! How was your journey?”

And later after I’d finished lunch (ribs!), as I was returning my tray I thanked her and she said, “No problem baby.” I’m not sure what it is about older black women, but they are living proof that condescension can be pleasant. (For another example, see: Jesus).

~ by justinhong on December 2, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
