Please, remember me

fondly, I heard from someone you’re still pretty.

I can’t get that line from “The Trapeze Swinger” out of my head.

Los Angeles is beautiful in its own way. The highways flanked by dramatic mountainsides that surprise me frequently, their faces ruddy with setting sunlight. The LA area is large, sprawling, I feel like I travel an hour to travel not-so-far.

The spaces are wide and open, but the air is too hazy for the effect to be liberating or refreshing. And Tim’s leaving so soon, so why be down here right? (Except for Jason, Taylor and Henry, I guess.)

I skipped church today and instead listened to a Tim Keller sermon, only to be told that going to church is important. Ironic? No.

I had a somewhat jarring dream last night, I’ll tell Tim but probably nobody else, and only because he’s around (and leaving!).

This is Taylor’s self-proclaimed blogging style, but lightly disguised by my decision to not use bullet points/dashes.

Finally, re Southern California (the place, not the school), despite being caught off guard by the landscape, it’s still really difficult for me to imagine people living real lives here. And if not for people like Taylor and Jason and Tim who seem to have done/be doing it, I wouldn’t believe it possible.

~ by justinhong on September 6, 2010.

4 Responses to “Please, remember me”

  1. yeah, TK foreknew that you would be listening to that sermon and put it in there specifically for you ๐Ÿ˜›

  2. I once wrote in my xanga, “Everything feels more real in Berkeley, even the water temperature.” Having lived in socal for the past two years now, I still think this is true.

  3. I wish people still xanga’d

  4. by people, meaning others? seeing as how you’ve moved over here.

    i recently began a “goodbye xanga” entry and saved it as a draft…maybe i will post it sometime.

    good day, mitsuboy! ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

 
