Let’s be honest

– 76F is way too hot for 3:26am
– I spend way too much time figuring out how to roll up long sleeves
– It’s difficult to not drink too much
– The only way I was able to walk by those homeless people daily was by not thinking of them as real people
– I enjoy comfort and security (imagined or not) as much as the next person
– In light of the previous point, the idea of having a stable job and just taking community college classes three quarters a year (with a summer break for pleasure reading), and just being generally involved in church and other stuff, that idea is very appealing, at the moment
– I used to not really like Fleet Foxes that much (and I guess the deeper observation would be that it’s fairly simple and easy to mold your tastes and preferences if you just give it time, i.e. how much do I really enjoy folk-ish music? Do I just like it because it fits some sort of image I want to project?)
– I have my books/And my poetry to protect me;/I am shielded in my armor,/Hiding in my room, safe within my womb./I touch no one and no one touches me./I am a rock, I am an island. /And a rock feels no pain; /And an island never cries.
– This was probably something you/I already knew: When I observe someone else’s pride and it bothers me and leads me to disdain and want to avoid said person, almost the only reasonable explanation is that because their pride(= thirst for attention/the spotlight, or feelings of superiority over others) violates my own similar feelings. Humility doesn’t need to jockey for attention against Pride. There just isn’t enough attention to fulfill the needs for two proud egos. In other words, it’s probably not my humble side that tells me, “Man, do you see that guy? What a loser, we don’t need friends like that!”
– It’s okay to hurt? (Something like: Courage isn’t a lack of fear, but perseverance in the face of it. Or, real Love and Grace doesn’t meant glossing over the faults and sins of others, but loving and forgiving in spite of them.)
– I missed reading non-Christian books
– My facial hair is starting to bug me
– I am afraid to be home for very valid reasons, and I think, excited to be home for all the wrong reasons
– The more I think about it the more I’m glad I was protected from dating situations before now (really! haha)
– I may never go running again (okay this is probably being dishonest.)

~ by justinhong on August 25, 2010.

9 Responses to “Let’s be honest”

  1. haha, 8 me-toos and 1 i’m-on-the-other-side-and-it-aint-that-great. justin, are you a mind reader?

  2. yes!

  3. wait so…you’re moving home?

  4. i think you’re just getting older! like a growth spurt during your emerging adulthood years.

  5. i like this list.

  6. did you just rip off my blogging style?

  7. i don’t know, did i?:

    http://mitsuboy.xanga.com/571459121/bullet-points/

  8. truth to the homeless people point

    aw yeah to the community college / job / church dream

    i have a lot to say about the dating thing, but i can see where you’re coming from. okay i’ll say one thing: pain is inevitable, but never regrettable.

    boo to the running thing. you will.

  9. […] June 17 9) If there were words, July 6 10) This Didn’t Happen in Real Life, September 7 11) Let’s be honest, August 25 12) Small Creatures, part I; Interlude: Soft Shoulder; Small Creatures, part II; Small […]

Leave a Reply

 
