“Wrestling, Writing, Writhing”

These three words have been in a post-it on my desktop for awhile now. Long enough, in fact, that I’ve forgotten why I put the first and last one there… wait, nevermind.

Wrestling
“The art of living is more like wrestling than dancing.” – Marcus Aurelius
The more I think about this the more it seems to hold true. Life, for most (if not all) of us, is not easy. I find it interesting that Ephesians talks a lot of standing. In wrestling, if you can do this well and in the face of an experienced opponent, that is a good sign. Blessings come, usually (as in Jacob’s case) only after struggle, perseverance, and pain (if you have ever wrestled seriously, you will find that even if you are victorious, you will almost inevitably be in some sort of pain).  I also like the saying because it’s so manly.

Writing

Letter writing is probably one of my favorite forms of communication, though I don’t do it very often. It just seems more meaningful. But one almost frightening aspect of it is that once you’ve sent a letter, unless you’re crazy and make carbon copies of all your personal correspondence, that person now has the sole, physical copy of something your foolish, naive, young self once wrote. It’s there for the world to read if they so choose, and to publish once you become famous. Luckily I’ve never written any embarrassing letters…

Writhing

I really think I put this there because this is how I felt/feel. I feel a cleansing coming. Sorry this is cryptic. I think the roots are being drawn in, springs loaded. It’s almost time to fly. Okay this is pretty transparent.

Misc.

I got a new Bible yesterday and a new journal today. I just filled my old journal last night which went for about 15 months (I don’t journal that consistently). That one encompassed my entire farm experience and this past year as a Regen intern. I look forward to one day reading back through it.

~ by justinhong on July 23, 2010.

3 Responses to ““Wrestling, Writing, Writhing””

  1. “Luckily I’ve never written any embarrassing letters…”

    Right.

  2. Oh yeah. That quote is pretty g. I like it.

  3. when you go somewhere it’s an opportunity for those you left behind to follow.

    road trip!

Leave a Reply

 
