Where’s my rib.

Simon the Bear’s fiance’s name is Ribecca. Their wedding website is http://www.simonfoundhisrib.com. Tell me that isn’t the cutest url in history.

—–

Earlier today I was taking a nap on the couch in the chapel and I could faintly overhear people chatting and laughing next door in the cafe. I know that this shouldn’t have been a shock, but it was almost surprising to think that others’ lives go on even when I’m not around. This sounds really self-centered but I don’t think it’s that abnormal to forget that there is a larger world outside of the area which you experience through your senses (and I guess that’s pretty much the definition of being “self-centered”). Sure, you get messages from the greater world, through television or newspapers and the stories others tell of their daily experience, but it’s so easy to forget that it’s out there and maintain a laser-like focus on your immediate surroundings. But it’s so interesting and humbling to think of the countless conversations going on right now in which you play no part, of which you will never ever read a transcript or hear a recording; substantial and inconsequential, heartbreaking and hopeful (or both?), hilarious and witty, or filled with rage, pain and regret.

I guess that’s why it’s so easy to eavesdrop, or why it is so jarring to see a couple fighting on the street, or a girl crying on the phone—instances that are glimpses into a strange, parallel universe that just happened to intersect yours as you walked across the street to take out the trash.

~ by justinhong on May 30, 2010.

2 Responses to “Where’s my rib.”

  1. Yeah, this post really hit home for me.

    That is really cute URL too, I couldn’t agree more.

  2. i loved this post. justin, i miss you.

Leave a Reply

 
