Contradictions

“Saving Lord, you gave your life so you could be with us.”

“For the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God.”

The Suffering Savior. The Sinless Criminal. The Merciful Judge. The God-Man. The Humble King. Death brings life. Boasting in weakness. The First is Last, & vice versa.

Don’t take away my contradictions. I am new, but oh so old. I am perfect and being perfected. I have won, but I lose daily. When I am weak (and this is tragically seldom…), I am strongest. Leave my contradictions alone. I could live and love and wade and wash in them all the rest of my life. The unexpected and the unexplainable have a strange and otherworldly ability to bring tears to my eyes, to catch my breath like nothing else can. O’ world, I who am being saved, claim them all. My foolishness brings peace. My burden brings death, but then freedom.

It must be heavy, o’ world, the need to have it all figured out.

~ by justinhong on May 26, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
