Safety

A ship in harbor is safe, but that is not what ships are built for.
-William Shedd, missionary to Iran, c. 1910

Where there are no oxen, the manger is clean,
but abundant crops come by the strength of the ox.

– Proverbs 14:4

I get this image of me sitting with Justin Jr. and telling him about all the things God brought me to and through. It goes:

“… and I know it’s pretty hard to believe, but that’s really how it all happened!”

“Wow! But all that sounds so dangerous!”

“Well JJ, that’s the thing about life with Jesus, it’s not safe, but it’s Good, he’s the King I tell you!”

(Extended awe-filled silence before we wrestle.)

Maybe the reason why I don’t feel like I can settle down and “be responsible” is because I see so few people doing it and at the same time doing what I would consider “Living”. Are my expectations unrealistic? Is realism really a biblical character trait that I need to start coveting?

~ by justinhong on May 17, 2010.

One Response to “Safety”

  1. I can’t believe no one commented here. Maybe it is because only girls comment on other girls blogs and men just blog because they know they are making a difference. But this is pretty deep and like shoot yea thats crazy to think about.

    Here is my conversation with Taylor jr.

    Yeah I know its hard to believe but I did once see the great Fedor
    Yes, I girls are the most evil creatures on earth.
    No TJ, you can pray all you want, but you will never be as cool as your dad.

Leave a Reply

 
