Couldn’t have said it better…

Subject: An Update
From: Justin Hong
Date: 12:03 AM
To: Jerry Kitt

Hi Jerry!

Can you believe it’s been almost a month since I left the farm? I can! It actually seems like it’s been a really long time since then, I’m not really sure why. Anyways, it’s a bit late and I should be studying right now, but I thought about you and decided it would be good to give you an update on the goings-on down here in California (or, at least the parts of CA that I’ve been in).

A lot has happened since I’ve been back! My cousin got married, and the wedding was great! It was really nice to see my cousins again, some of whom I’d not seen for maybe five years! I got to stay at home and hang out with my parents and brother and friends for a couple of weeks, which was also really nice. But as of last Monday I started an internship with my church, Regeneration, in Oakland, where I will be helping out with building maintenance and programs as well as a fairly intensive study program for the next year! In the meantime, in order to pay for my subsidized rent and food costs, I will be doing a nine month long, part-time, paid internship (yes, another one!) with a non-profit organization based in Berkeley called the Urban Creeks Council. It’s a Stream Restoration Internship so I will be working with and in riparian habitats around Contra Costa County, doing planting and maintenance as well as monitoring studies to track the health of different creeks and streams.

I’m pretty excited about both of these developments and I’m pretty sure I would not have even thought to apply had I not spent time in Goodfare and seen and experienced life in a wilder and healthier environment! So yes, that’s what has been going on in my life, how are things at the ranch?

Please say hello to Sam and Kari for me!
Justin

~ by justinhong on September 3, 2009.

One Response to “Couldn’t have said it better…”

  1. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
