Buggers

The classic question dubbed “The Problem of Pain”, i.e. How could an all-powerful, good and loving God allow people to suffer?, doesn’t really bother me. I don’t think it’s because I’m insensitive to peoples’ pain but rather that I don’t really get the sense in blaming God for what, for the most part, humans do to each other. I guess it’s a deeper issue than that, but that’s not really the point of this post. Rather, I’d like to address, or at least bring to light, a facet of “The Problem” that I feel has been overlooked and neglected in our attempts to answer this question. The aspect of suffering I’m referring to is: Mosquitoes.

Often when I’m out on the fenceline building fences, or just sitting around talking to people I am accosted by these little freaks. They bite and buzz and, due to my inability to keep myself from scratching, ultimately leave me covered in little scabs all over my forearms and neck and any other vulnerable body part. On hot days, in between clenched teeth and swearing, I am tempted to shake my fists skyward and demand of our Good Lord, “WHY?? WHY WOULD YOU CREATE SUCH AN ABOMINATION?!” Why would God create an insect, in such great numbers, that enjoys sucking your blood, and during the best times of day (i.e. cool evening hours) and in some of the most beautiful places (i.e. near lakes and ponds in the woods)? What kind of twisted mind would do such a thing?

But as I lay in bed late at night, kept up by the itching and scratching, I find my questioning unanswered. The only thing I can come up with is that the Lord created mosquitoes so that we would never quite feel fully at home on this earth. That we would continue to long for another place.

~ by justinhong on July 29, 2009.

4 Responses to “Buggers”

  1. without mosquitoes, we’d never have brought dinosaurs back to life.

  2. http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/us_med_malaria_vaccine

    redemption!

  3. dammit, i was just gonna post that link lana

  4. heyhey just read over a few posts.. pretty interesting and fun stuff! wish i could see everything you’re talking about. so you’re coming back in a few weeks, ey? (haha) let’s partay!

Leave a Reply

 
