Blogging

I forgot to mention, but on the way to hear Andrew Nikiforuk speak Jerry was telling me about him and what he does and says about the oil and gas industries. He then said “I’m surprised he’s still alive” (referring to how critical and controversial he is). That is such an awesome thing for someone to say about you.

Anyways, I just finished Walden, the Conclusion chapter is great. But it got me to thinking that maybe I’ve been going about my experience in the wrong way. I realized that I should probably allow myself to reflect and interpret my experiences before I rush to post them onto this page. Also, I feel as if a lot of my writing energy goes into thinking about what to post here, as opposed to my paper journal (which I may or may not be able to be more open in). I guess this is just a long way of saying that I might be posting here a lot less and writing in my journal (hopefully more). But I do look forward to swapping exciting stories with all of you when I get home.

And now I’ll leave you with some choice passages from the “Conclusion” chapter of Walden:

“I left the woods for as good a reason as I went there. Perhaps it seemed to me that I had several more lives to live, and could not spare any more time for that one It is remarkable how easily and insensibly we fall into a particular route, and make a beaten track for ourselves. I had not lived there a week before my feet wore a path from my door to the pondside; and though it is five or six years since I trod it, it is still quite distinct. It is true, I fear, that others may have fallen into it, and so helped to keep it open. The surface of the earth is soft and impressible by the feet of men; and so with the paths which the mind travels. How worn and dusty, then, must be the highways of the world, how deep the ruts of tradition and conformity!”

“Some are dinning in our ears that we Americans, and moderns generally, are intellectual dwarfs compared with the ancients, or even Elizabethan men. But what is that to the purpose? A living dog is better than a dead lion. Shall a man go and hang himself because he belongs to the race of pygmies, and not be the biggest pygmy that he can? Let every one mind his own business, and endeavor to be what he was made.”

~ by justinhong on June 7, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
