To give you an idea of how different it is up here, last night I turned off my bedside lamp at 11:30pm and could still make out details on the trees a hundred yards away. I guess the fact that I went to bed at 11:30pm is also a big difference. The other night I woke up at 2am and went outside to go pee. As I was sacrificing my hard earned body warmth to the night I was treated to a view of thousands of stars filling up the sky. It still wasn’t completely dark even at that time (I don’t think it ever gets completely dark here this time of year), which is a shame because I’m sure the view would have been even more breathtaking if it had been.

Tonight will be Tim and Abby’s last night here at the farm. They’re heading to Alaska to explore around a bit and reapply for visas to get back into Canada. They’ve been here for about a year now.

I am currently torn between the option of going home for good in August and coming back after my cousin’s wedding and staying for another couple of months (I’ve already ruled out staying for the whole year, I don’t think I could handle it). I enjoy being here but I think I’ve seen enough to know that I don’t want to be a pig farmer (Jerry’s main moneymaker is pork, even though he does a lot with the cows, bison, chickens and turkeys), and I don’t feel like I will get to learn as much about land management and ecology as I want, I might have to go to school for that. Being here has really opened my eyes to a lot of ways though. I wouldn’t really call myself a nature lover yet, I don’t know enough to know if I love her, but I do know that I love that people love her. I also feel really compelled to eat locally and in season and grow at least some of my own food when I get home, because I think if you can, you should.

So I guess we will see, the thought of living through a real winter (I think it gets down to -40, at which Farenheit and Celcius are the same during the winter) is still really appealing, though probably only because I don’t really know what -40 degrees means. But knowing what I know now, I’m not sure if I can make the argument for paying for a round trip just to sit in front of a fire for a few months, though, that does sound really nice. (Warning: I will take offense any attempt to make the argument for me staying longer, regardless of the reasoning.)

On another note, I’m beginning to wonder if you can really consider yourself to have lived if, at the end, you’ve never experienced the following:

– getting knocked out
– getting knocked up (jk, I can’t do that anyways)
– going to jail (legitimately or not!)
– been slapped by a girl (legitimately or not!)
– hitchhiked

That’s not much of a list, but I’m sure I could think of some more if I tried a bit harder. I hope we get a special dinner tonight since Tim and Abby are leaving! Yesterday Jerry made Butter Turkey Curry (like butter chicken) Mmmmmm!

~ by justinhong on May 29, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
