The Right Stuff

(also: Things I notice and/or Realize While at or Coming Home From the Gym)

1) Today I got to the Right Stuff (my gym in San Jose) at around 10pm. While I was doing pull-ups and seated rows there was a group of four gentlemen working out near me supersetting tricep extensions. Though they varied in muscularity all four of them would be considered ‘big’ by normal citizens’ standards. One guy with a bald head and Confucius-esque beard, and notably the biggest of the group, was obviously the leader. He called out the rep numbers and determined the amount of reps per set as well as increments of increase in weight (i.e. “OK, YOU’RE GONNA DO 10 of 50 then DROP, 10 of 75 DROP, 10 of 100 DROP), and when it was his turn to go he grunted and puffed like the best of them. Between each set the others would stand around waiting for orders, or, as one eager guy did, start a rep early calling asking the boss, “What’s the weight now?? how many reps? 30 of 50? 50 of 30?”. The air of camaraderie and mutual encouragement in these four was almost tangible.

All the while I sat at the seated row bench, observing this scene that could be described (perhaps not to their liking), as nothing short of… cute.

2) Near closing, about 10:45pm, Britney Spears’s “Oops I did it Again” came on the radio. Listening to the song I realized that, as big of a Britney fan as I was in middle school (and as much as I’d heard the song before) I never actually knew what it was about. I guess it never occurred to me to analyze the lyrics (which is strange because Britney was famous for her deeply piercing poetry, right?) But yeah, now I do. Psh, girls.

On another note (I think I’ll call this section “Ken was right.”):

    The rhetorical debate over Wal-Mart is not nearly as interesting as the debate we might be having in our own heads if we acknowledged what was at stake. Millions of us shop at Wal-Mart because we like its low prices. Many of us also own Wal-Mart stock through our pension or mutual funds. Isn’t Wal-Mart really being excoriated for our sins? After all, it is not as if Wal-Mart’s founder, Sam Walton, and his successors created the world’s largest retailer by putting a gun to our heads and forcing us to shop there or to invest any of our retirement savings in the firm.

from p. 90 of Supercapitalism by Robert Reich

Aren’t we always looking for somebody else to blame? (This is almost exactly what the Southpark episode “Something Wal-Mart this way comes” was about.)

~ by justinhong on November 8, 2007.

3 Responses to “The Right Stuff”

  1. hahahah! ken was not right! (this being said from someone who bought sugar from wal-mart last night)and yeah. no more shopping for me :(and i totally would let you! but you dont have a dslr… so… no 🙂

  2. The world would be such a better place if everyone watched South Park.

  3. oh thank you justin, i’m really happy someone agreed with me for once haha. i feel really blessed

Leave a Reply

 
